THE NEW leader of Slough Borough Council has named his new cabinet.

The recently appointed leader, Cllr James Swindlehurst, dismissed the cabinet that had worked under his predecessor, Cllr Sohail Munawar, as part of a reshuffle.

Cllr Swindlehurst said "I promised a cabinet that reflects our town’s diversity, and this cabinet does just that – and I am extremely proud to have been able return the Cabinet to a gender balance for the first time in over 7 years."

The new cabinet consists of:

Cllr James Swindlehurst (Cippenham Green), Leader of the Council, and cabinet member for regeneration and strategy.

Cllr Sabia Hussain (Central), deputy leader of the council and cabinet member for digital transformation and performance.

Cllr Rob Anderson (Britwell and Northborough), cabinet member for environment and leisure.

Cllr Martin Carter (Britwell and Northborough), cabinet member for planning and transport.

Cllr Pavitar K. Mann (Britwell and Northborough), cabinet member for regulation and consumer protection.

Cllr Mohammed Nazir (Baylis and Stoke), cabinet member for corporate finance and housing.

Cllr Natasa Pantelic (Cippenham Meadows), cabinet member for health and social care.

Cllr Shabnum Sadiq (Wexham Lea), cabinet member for children and education.

The major reshuffles sees Cllr Joginder S Bal, Cllr Madhuri Bedi, Cllr Arvind Dhaliwal, Cllr Fiza Matloob, Cllr Mohammed Sharif, and Cllr Zafar Ajaib lose their positions on the cabinet. Only Cllr Mohammed Nazir continues to hold his seat.

Some of the portfolios of each cabinet position have been altered, for example, the cabinet position now held by Cllr Sadiq previously included 'families' as part of its remit.

Cllr Swindlehurst said: "I firmly believe the members of this cabinet have the experience, expertise and drive to deliver the changes Slough requires and can be relied upon to make the correct call in tackling all the challenges we face.

"It is a cabinet that will have, at its heart, the wellbeing of all of Slough’s residents."