THE region’s youth parliament has elected a new chairwoman.

Alaa Fawaz, 16, was appointed chairwoman of Slough Youth Parliament on Thursday, February 15.

Speaking after her election, Miss Fawaz said: “I want to build a legacy where us young people are seen as the recipe to success, where everyone knows our names and never look at young people the same, because they know now that the future – we built that. Motivation – we’ve got that. And youth empowerment, we strive for that.”

Miss Fawaz, who attends Herschel Grammar, has served as SYP representative since 2016, and has spoken on its behalf in the House of Commons. She was up against nine other candidates to become chair of the internal committee.

Raakhi Sharma, 16, was elected as Slough’s new representative for UK Youth Parliament. Miss Sharma, who joined the SYP in January last year, beat seven other candidates to take the role.

The Youth Parliament is made up of 11-19 year olds from across the borough.