The Royal Borough's new leader has announced the members of his cabinet team.

Cllr Andrew Johnson who represents the Hurley and Walthams ward was formally elected as new council leader at Tuesday's council meeting last week - following the resignation of Simon Dudley.

He announced his cabinet team on Thursday.

Cllr Johnson will chair the cabinet while also taking the role as lead member for residents' services and economic development.

He is a veteran from Hammersmith and Fulham Council and a former mayor of that borough, before moving to the Royal Borough and restarting his council career there.

The new cabinet met for the first time on Thursday in Maidenhead Town Hall.

Cllr Samantha Rayner who represents Eton and Castle ward is deputy leader, as well as lead member for Windsor.

Cllr Stuart Carroll who represents Boyn Hill is deputy chairman of cabinet and lead member for adult social care, children's services, health and mental health.

Other positions are: Cllr David Coppinger (Bray ward), lead member for planning and Maidenhead; Cllr David Cannon (Datchet, Horton and Wraysbury ward), lead member for public protection and parking; Cllr Gerry Clarke (Bisham and Cookham), lead member transport and infrastructure; Cllr David Hilton (Ascot and Sunninghill), lead member for finance and Ascot; Cllr Donna Stimson (St Mary's), lead member environmental services, climate change, sustainability and culture; Cllr Ross McWilliams (Cox Green), lead member for housing, communications and youth engagement.

The cabinet has a high proportion of councillors from the Maidenhead end of the borough with only one member representing a central area of Windsor - a sign of losses the ruling Conservatives suffered in the recent election.

But Cllr Johnson repeated earlier indications that he wants the authority to be as inclusive as possible, saying: “Our newly appointed cabinet will be working closely with Royal Borough officers to help deliver our priorities as well as working with other councillors from all parties on things that matter most to our residents.”