Tenants and leaseholders are being offered a chance to hold Slough Borough Council to account with the launch of a new 'resident' board'.

Nine people have volunteered to regularly meet and discuss ways of improving the management of council housing in the borough.

As well as holding the council and its repairs, maintenance and investment service partner Osborne to account, the board will probe issues, seek answers and help shape future improvements to the service.

The first official meeting was held in September and was attended by the council’s chief executive Josie Wragg, leader of the council Cllr James Swindlehurst and Cllr Mohammed Nazir, cabinet member for housing and community safety.

Ms Wragg said she had begun her career in local government as a tenant liaison officer who visited residents and dealt with issues and concerns.

She told the board: “Thank you for involving me and thank you for volunteering to participate on an important aspect of accountability."

The board is currently being chaired by independent social housing consultant Nigel Pacey. He will continue until the spring when another independent but permanent chair will be engaged.

He said: “Board members live in social housing and they are the best people to have influence and improve services that impact their and their neighbours’ lives.

“Also residents can scrutinise their landlord, ask questions and influence decisions that affect them and their homes.”

The board will meet every two months to look at how services are performing and to discuss issues and concerns.

Board member Sheebaa Parveen said she was passionate about making Slough a better place and to serve the tenants and leaseholders who come from different backgrounds and ethnicities.

She said:

“By sitting on the board I work for the people of Slough and make sure to help shape the future of Slough housing.”

More residents and tenants are needed as board members as well as other areas where people can get involved. Anyone interested can get in touch with Karen Lewis, information & participation manager, on 01753 875437.


Picture shows the New board members with Chief Executive Josie Wragg (back second left) and chairman Nigel Pacey (back third left).