The Liberal Democrats have won the majority vote in Maidenhead for the first time in 150 years.

In a close race, Joshua Peter Reynolds, the Lib Dem leader, beat out his Conservative rival Tania Mathias with a stunning 21,895 votes compared to Tania's 18,932 votes

The vote was the closest across the Royal Borough, and delighted voters and campaigners who cheered for the party at the final declaration.

Jo Smith from the Labour Party was voted third in the Maidenhead constituency with 5,766 votes.

Here is the full list of results:

Winner: Joshua Peter Reynolds (Lib dem) - 21,895
Andrew Stuart Cooney (The Green Party) - 1,996
Tim Burt (Social democratic party) - 518
Qazi Yasir Irshad - 431
Tania Mathias (Conservatives) - 18,932
Jo Smith (Labour) - 5,766
George Wright - 791