IVER Golf Club got the New Year under way with a Stableford competition and the first major event in their calendar, the Derek Smith Open.

Harjinder Dhardwar continued to dominate events by winning the Stableford competition with 39 points, while picking up the two-ball prize along the way.

Richard Frewin took second place on countback from Satinder Sandhu, both scoring 36 points.

The Derek Smith Open was won by Steve Loosley with 34 points.

Dhardwar had to settle for second place this time with 33 points, with Sandhu third on countback.

Check out the Observer sports Facebook page. Search: Robert Observer Sport and like, follow and share today.