WINDSOR, Slough, Eton & Hounslow (WSEH) Athletics Club finished as runners-up behind Woking in the opening match of Southern League Division One, writes Dennis Daly.

The closely-contested match had originally been scheduled for the new track at Woking Athletics Club but was transferred to the Thames Valley Athletics Centre in Eton at the last minute.

WSEH recorded a total of 187 points to finish behind Woking (227) with Bracknell (194) completing the podium positions.

The 100m saw Karl Rizvi place second in the A race with a personal best (PB) of 11.51 seconds (secs). David Corsy-Dewu made a promising debut for the club in winning the B race with 11.8secs. The multi-talented Jodie Smith took second spot in the ladies A race in 12.7secs, with Kennedy Bay winning the B race on 13.0secs.

Another WSEH debutant Nicholas Karonik was third in the 200m A race in 23.1secs, with Rizvi second in the B race on 23.4secs. WSEH ladies were to the fore in the 200m races - Jess Armah winning the A race in 25.6secs.

The 800m races produced a second place for Dan Brookling in two minutes and 2.6 seconds (2.02.6), with Ed Henderson, 16, winning the B event in 2:03.8.

The 1,500m saw another WSEH victory, this time from Will Barnicott, 16, in 4:16.0. Alfie Speer, 16, won the B string on 4:17.7

Team captain Simon Millett was runner-up in the A string 5,000m in 15:35.6, with Ben Bishop similarly placed in the B race in 16:15.1.

The 400m hurdles produced further good performances from WSEH. Ellie Cleveland wo her race in 67.2secs.

The 200m steeplechase provided a victory for Marcus Shantry in 6:29.0.

WSEH continued to score useful points in the field events. More 16-year-olds were in action in the high jump - Lionel Owona won the A string with 1.90m and Oscar Wiking completed the double with a B string win on 1.80m.

Euan Bryden topped the bill in the pole vault with his 4.10m and veteran Chris Mill was second in the B division with 3.90m. For the ladies, Megan Morris was second on 2.50m.

Wiking was back in action in the long jump and won with a PB of 6.90m. Smith was another to make a reappearance, this time winning with 5.62m

Smith was in action again in the javelin, placing second with 37.00m. Abi Jones made it maximum in the B with 32.29m.

The men's javelin produced second place finishes for Jude Compton-Stewart (40.89m) and George Smith (37.97m).

There was a winning double in the ladies discus courtesy of Amy Holder (33.09m) and Rachel Denton-Snape (32.98m).

Denton-Snape also contested the hammer, placing second with 41.56m, with Any Wright winning the B event on 40.65m.

The men's hammer produced maximum points with victories from Iain Botting (47.49m) and Luke Norris (42.09m).

The meeting culminated with the relay events and the best result for the club came in the 4x400m event with a win in 3:39.6.