A BLEND of youth and experience plus team commitment saw Windsor, Slough, Eton & Hounslow (WSEH) emerge as easy winners of the third match in the Southern League Division One series.


amassed a total of 243 points to beat hosts Reading (185) with Norwich (173) back in third position.

The opening event, the men’s hammer, was totally dominated by the WSEH athletes with maximum points delivered by Taylor Campbell (72.70m) and Jake Norris (67.35m).

In the ladies event, Barbara Norris, mother to Jake, had to settle for second with 42.98m, but Amy Wright was winner of the B string with 39.10m.

It was the ladies that shone in the opening track event, with Emily Barrett winning in 69.08 seconds (secs) and Zuri Mullings the B string in a faster 66.40secs.

The sprint events saw the WSEH ladies again stacking up maximum points with victories for Steph Clitheroe (12.4secs) and Kennedy Bays (12.9secs) in the 100m. Jess Armah (25.2secs) and Harriet Jones (24.9secs) repeated proceedings in the 200m.

For the men, Reiss Durban-Davison was second in the 200m in 22.9secs with Peter Moreno producing a fast 22.7secs to win the B race.

The 400m saw a personal best of 49.7secs for Josh Pearson, 18, with Shaun Hudson again assuring maximum points by winning the B race in 50.6secs.

More top points were accrued in the men’s 800m with wins for Dylan Spencer, 16, in a PB of one minute and 57.5 seconds (1:57.5) and Dan Brookling in 1:59.0.

The ladies 800m also produced a WSEH winner in Alice Flint in 2:18.7, with Tia Hansford second on 2:27.5.

The successes continued in the 1,500m with Dominic McDougall, 18, gaining an easy victory in 4:06.0. For the ladies, Molly Jones (4:46.7) and Maya Hodgson (5:04.0) again delivered maximum points.

The 300m saw Charlotte Firth having to settle for second place on 10:18.2, with Jenni Ball winning the B string with her time of 10:44.7.

There were similar placings in the men’s 5,000m with Simon Millett clocking 15:41.5 and Marcus Shantry taking the B string in 15:47.1.

The 2,000m steeplechase had Tilly Compton-Stewart in second place and Flint winning the B event.

The 100m hurdles again produced maximum points for the club, Clitheroe (14.5secs) and Lara Pleace (14.8secs) delivering. For the men, Moreno was first across the line in 15.0secs in the 110m hurdles.

The WSEH youngsters were to the fore in the high jump with Lionel Owona second with 1.95m and Oscar Wiking winning the B string with his 1.75m. Temi Ojora (1.80m) and Pleace (1.50m) won for the ladies.

Sam Challis was the best of the WSEH Mens long jumpers with his 6.39m leap taking him into second place.

For the ladies, Jodie Smirth was similarly placed with her distance of 5.58m with Sofija Korf winning the B string on 5.57m.

The triple jump was totally dominated by the WSEH athletes with Paulius Svarauskas (14.84m) and Teepee Princewell(14.57m) and Temi Ojora(12.75m) and Rachel Melbourne(10.05m) all delivering maximum points.

The pole vault event saw two second places for WSEH from Megan Morris with 2.70m and Polly Hitchings on 2.30m.

The javelin event had Calia Logan-Griffin placing second in the A string with 30m65 and Barbara Norris winning the B string on 26m43.

Having totally dominated the match it was thus not surprising to see WSEH winning three of the four relay races that concluded the day.