The London Mets were crowned British Baseball Federation National Baseball League champions at Farnham Park at the weekend after they came from behind to beat the London Capitals 2-1 in the best-of-three series.

The Capitals took the first game 5-3 on Saturday, August 26,  after Leo Cedano hit a double which scored two runs to take a one-run lead.

Catcher Hironori Tajiri then singled in the seventh inning to drive in an insurance run and secure the victory.

The second game on Sunday, August 27, resulted in a 14-0 shutout for the Mets as Ryan McLaughlin pitched a complete game allowing just two hits.

Series MVP Jarficur Parker led the Mets offense with three hits, three runs and two runs driven in while first baseman Rich Minford hit a triple which drove in two runs.

The Mets clinched the third game 5-0 and secured their fifth successive national title with Minford striking out eight Capitals batters in his seven innings pitched.

Parker maintained his form with the bats with two hits and carried out a crucial double play from his position as a shortstop.

“The NBL finals were a great exhibition of the talent within the London Mets club with both finalists the London Mets & London Capitals being valued members in our adult programme. Both teams exhibited strong pitching performances, but the London Mets' offence brought them out on top.

“The club is incredibly excited to once again be sending two teams into European competition in 2024, the Mets in the Fed Cup & the Capitals in the Fed Cup Qualifier.

“Many thanks to the BBF for facilitating the NBL finals weekend as a highlight of the British baseball calendar,” Joe O’Connell, the club’s commissioner.

The national baseball championships return to Farnham Park on Sunday, September 17, with the AAA, AA and A finals while the Women’s Baseball League final between Belles Baseball and Sheffield Bruins will take place on Sunday, September 24.